Virginia Tech® home

Sigma Psi Zeta Sorority, Inc. - Kappa Charter

Members of Sigma Psi Zeta

Josie Saunders

Mailing Address:
117 New Hall West (0428)
Blacksburg, VA 24061

Interested in Joining?
Contact: Josie Saunders

Chapter Advisor
Clarisse Cubas-Lopez

Chapter Conduct Status as of 6/1/2024: In Good Standing

% of Members Found Responsible for Individual Student Conduct Violations in 2023-24 Academic Year*: 0%

*The percentage of individual members of each organization who were found responsible for violations of the Virginia Tech Student Code of Conduct during the academic year. These violations were not related to their membership in the organization.

Sigma Psi Zeta crest showing colors of red and gold.

Motto: Lead from the front.

Goal: The goal of our organization is to provide a means for young women, particularly women of color, to grow and develop well-rounded skills and ambitions for life after college.

Founded: March 23, 1994 at the University of Albany

Chapter Information

Spring 2024 Members: 5

Spring 2024 Chapter GPA: 3.4636 

Fall 2024 Projected Initiated Member Dues:  $165

Fall 2024 Projected New Member Dues:  $150

Chapter Philanthropy: Women's Resource Center of the New River Valley

Community Service Hours in 2019-20: 200 (Average of 15.38 per member)

Housing: N/A

Standards of Excellence Score 2023-2024: Platinum

Awards & Recognition:


  • Virginia Tech Fraternity and Sorority Life Sorority Chapter on the Rise
  • Virginia Tech Fraternity and Sorority Life Excellence in Campus and Community Engagement
  • Virginia Tech Fraternity and Sorority Life Michelle Dillon Outstanding Sorority President of the Year: Mia Hagood
  • Virginia Tech Fraternity and Sorority Life Order of Omega Outstanding UCFS Legacy Award: Sania Mahmood
  • Virginia Tech Fraternity and Sorority Life Outstanding Community Sorority/Fraternity Leader of the Year for the UCFS Community: Crystal Lee


  • Virginia Tech Fraternity and Sorority Life Inclusivity Award


  • Virginia Tech Paige M. Neubauer Emerging Leader of the Year: Sania Mahmood